We’ll Never See their like again?

Hi,

I was going to chose to title this “Who’s Gonna Fill Their Shoes?” but went with the above instead. As most, if not all, have heard by now…we’ve lost Carrie Fisher and her mother Debbie Reynolds. We’ve lost a lot of people this year we forty-somethings grew up watching and listening to. I’m hearing a lot of moaning about what we’ve lost this year and some cursing the year for taking them from us.

I understand that. However, I’m curious as to what my grandfather and his generation thought when Shirley Temple Black or John Barrymore passed. Errol Flynn? Who was going to be Robin Hood after he was gone?

“Who’s Gonna Fill Their Shoes?” is an old song by George Jones where he laments what’s going to happen when Johnny Cash, Waylon Jennings and the rest of his generation of country singers are gone. What happened? We got Travis Tritt, Garth Brooks and Toby Keith. I’d argue “Red Solo Cup” is no “Ring of Fire” but that’s an argument for another article.

My point is this: Time goes by. People pass on and they often die too soon. I’m sure fans of the Poltergeist movies cried the day Heather O’Rourke died. Carrie Fisher was ‘only’ sixty. As someone who is only seventeen years from that, I think the word only is appropriate. Ask a kid, you might get a different opinion. When our children and grandchildren get to be our age, they’ll be sad because Elle Fanning or the girl who played Catniss died. Mourn the deaths, but don’t curse the year for it. It’s not 2016’s fault.

One more thing before I go. I’m trying to get a couple more sales of my first book to reach a goal of 30. If anyone seeing this reads my insert and description and wants to buy it, that would be great. Look here: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01D7ESTL2

Leave a Reply

